Rick Sanchez fired

I made a post about a way I agreed with one thing Rick Sanchez, formerly of CNN, said and now he’s gone and gotten himself fired for :

  1. Calling Jon Stewart a bigot, and
  2. Saying he does not think Jewish people significantly suffer from discrimination in the US and control parts of the media

Isn’t that just absolutely great.

Okay, is Jon Stewart a bigot? I doubt it, but I don’t watch him very much, so I can’t really say. Although I think you could say he fits the definition in one miniscule way. He is intolerant of those with differing political opinion. In this country I see nothing wrong with that. That also is not the way I think Rick Sanchez meant it.

When asked who Stewart is bigoted against, Sanchez said “everybody else who’s not like him.” Sanchez would eventually retract the “bigot” claim, settling instead on calling Stewart “prejudicial” and “uninformed.”

Now, is Jon Stewart prejudiced? Yes, we all are. The question is does he have any prejudices which as a society we have decided are immoral. To keep it simple, it is okay to be prejudiced against sex offenders; it is not okay to be prejudiced against someone because of their skin color. Yes those are prejudices, yes people can pull stats out to support their prejudices of either one, as a society though we will permit (even encourage) the prejudice against previously convicted sex offenders. Rick Sanchez basically maligned the guy with as best as I can gather no evidence at all.

Now, what did he say about Jews:

 I’m telling you that everybody who runs CNN is a lot like Stewart, and a lot of people who run all the other networks are a lot like Stewart, and to imply that somehow they — the people in this country who are Jewish — are an oppressed minority? Yeah. [sarcastically]

The level of stupid in that comment is amazing. He said other things which I consider actually worse. Essentially he came down to arguing this, the prejudice he has confronted, and that he sees others have had to confront over race are exceedingly greater than that experienced by Jewish people. He, in essence, was arguing there was no longer any appreciable institutional prejudice/bigotry impacting Jews, at least in comparison to Hispanics and Blacks.

That is actually something I can speak a little about, my family is Jewish, and for those years when I called myself Jewish (in current moments of contemplation I may be a Deist, but more accurately Agnostic-Athiest) I can not say I ever felt like I was being discriminated against. And that comes from having lived on the East Coast, West Coast, South and the Midwest. Given what my siblings have achieved in their life, and the lack of hearing anything about any issues concerning them and their faith I would say they would share the same experience (my family would be quick to call one another and scream to high-heaven if they ever thought they were discriminated against for their religion)

I don’t know what happened to Rick Sanchez. Perhaps he was on meds and suddenly went off them. But he pretty much did a career melt-down / suicide in one short interview.

(Note: Yes I just learned about this today, that is how little TV I watch)

Leave a Reply

